“Empassioned is not a word. It actually is spelled impassioned. With an ‘i’.” 

If you looked at the name of this website and thought that, I pass no judgement. I too would have been irritated or confused by a clear misspelling of the word. However, there’s a method to this madness.

You see, as I was trying to come up with a jazzy and original name for this little blog, I was stumped by the balance I needed: creative, but not cheesy. Things like marina’scornucopiaofknowledge.com kept rolling off of my tongue….I wanted to punch myself in the face! Why is it so hard to think of a catchy name that doesn’t sound like it’s trying too hard to be cool? 

“Okay, Marina. Calm down. All you wanted was a place to let your thoughts out honestly. Stop trying to be fantastic and take the attention off of the bells and whistles. What do you want to say to the world?” 

I asked myself that fair question. After all, I could have the coolest sounding name in history, but if I was publishing nonsense with no substance, what was the point? There are many other creative people with creative sounding blogs. I want to do something else.

Here is what I have to bring to the table: the idea that God has placed passions inside of us. Be it a passion for social justice, music, changing society’s view of adolescents, or anything else  on God’s green Earth! God planted certain interests and needs inside of us that He wants us to use for His glory. Every single God-given passion in every single person is important and must be taken seriously. Personally, I am tired of seeing beautiful ideas blossoming inside of my peers that are only  shut down by their own minds or outside forces. 

“Maybe when you’re older.” 

“Yes, great idea! Let’s have [insert the name of someone four times your age] take care of that.” 

“It might be difficult for you to do that at this time. You don’t yet have the life experiences necessary to get it done.”

Now, at the risk of sounding like an angry teenager needing to rant (Okay, that’s exactly what I just did, but I’m coming to my point), I must say I understand that not all of my ideas are stellar and need to be put in place. I can respect the answer “No”. What I’m talking about is not when  something stupid or inappropriate is asked for. Nuh-uh, I mean when an idea is a good idea. Then, the good idea is automatically dismissed because the person suggesting it is younger than age. 

The theme I want to set aflame among my community is this: it doesn’t matter how old you are. You could be nine or seventy-seven. God has empowered YOU as His child, and He wants YOU to set His ideas into motion. Your passions may turn into thoughts, as mine often have. The mistake I always make is thinking, “Meh, I’ll do it another time.” There’s also “Yea, it’s a good idea, but who would take me seriously? I’m at the bottom of the food chain.” I feel God calling me to take it a step further and turn my ideas into ACTION. 

My friend, that is the point of this blog. Blending the passions in my heart with the empowerment God has given me as His daughter. I don’t have my purpose all figured out. I don’t even know what I’m going to study in university, man! Yet, God keeps bringing to light this one flame that flares up inside of me: He has given me (and YOU) power to do great things, and I don’t want to waste that opportunity anymore.  

In Luke 10:19, God says: “Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you.” [KJV, emphasis added.] That’s a pretty clear statement, and it comforted me as I typed it out just now. There’s also the famous Philippians 4:13: “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” [NKJV]  Lastly, a convincing personal fave of mine, 1 Timothy 4:12: “Don’t let anyone think less of you because you are young. Be an example to all believers in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, your faith, and your purity.” [NLT]

As we go through this journey together, you and me, I hope we can keep each other accountable. The time for pushing ideas aside because we’re young is over. Have you heard the saying “God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies the called”? Well, it’s all over Facebook if you haven’t seen it before. To me, it means that I need to respond to God’s calling first, and He’ll help me along the way. I believe that God will reward my obedience, and therefore qualify me so I can obey.

So, will you take the plunge with me? I’m pretty scared. After all, when I press the “publish” button, the whole world will be able to tell me to put my money where my mouth is! Maybe we can do it as a team, one step at a time. 

Here goes step one. ANNNNNNNNND, publish! 

