I see that you walk with grace, and

I have observed that you are beautiful, and

You don’t know me, but I know you 

because I have a careful eye for carefree people. 

 You move smoothly, you dress coherently, you are slender.

 Even the way you blink is perfect, with eyelashes that could conjure up a breeze. 

So, I think I will be like you. 

I will walk like you, talk like you, even use your phrases. 

I will become your carbon copy, because I see 

that you are everything I think I want to look like…to be. 

Now, we have never spoken about politics,

 religion, 

morals 

or even the weather. 

No, we have never truly spoken at all, for I am a wallflower here. 

But your exterior is perfect, so I assume your mind is too. 

I assume, by your air of confidence and preparedness, that you have your life in order. 

Maybe in neat little boxes.

 You must dot your eyes with hearts, and write with fountain pens. So, I think I will do that too. 

I will become your carbon copy, because I see 

that you are everything I think I want to look like…to be

I am not you, and I know that. 

So, I will put my spin on your curlsmy jewelry on your clothing, 

your clothing on my shape,

my accent on your words. 

Yet, I am still emulating you.

I am buried, and who I am got lost in who I perceive you to be. 

Still, being consious of this, my mind continues to repeat:

I will become your carbon copy, because I see 

that you are everything I think I want to look like, to be.”

– – – – 

Copyright 2015, all rights reserved

